Economy of Integrated Circuits

Design of Complex Integrated Circuits

7 Economy of Integrated Circuits

7.1 Selling Price and Total Cost

Selling Price and Total Cost

\[ S_\mathrm{tot} = \frac{C_\mathrm{tot}}{1 - m} \tag{57}\]

Selling Price and Total Cost

Table 11: Impact of the profit margin on the required selling price
Profit margin Selling price
30 % \(S_\mathrm{tot} \approx 1.4 \cdot C_\mathrm{tot}\)
50 % \(S_\mathrm{tot} = 2 \cdot C_\mathrm{tot}\)
70 % \(S_\mathrm{tot} \approx 3.3 \cdot C_\mathrm{tot}\)

Selling Price and Total Cost

\[ C_\mathrm{tot} = R_\mathrm{tot} + \frac{F_\mathrm{tot}}{N_\mathrm{sold}} \tag{58}\]

7.2 Non-Recurring Engineering Cost

Non-Recurring Engineering Cost

\[ F'_\mathrm{tot} = E_\mathrm{tot} + P_\mathrm{tot} + I_\mathrm{tot} \tag{59}\]

Non-Recurring Engineering Cost

Table 12: Approximate mask-set costs for different technology nodes
Technology Estimated mask-set cost
CMOS 180 nm $80k
CMOS 28 nm $1.5M
CMOS 5 nm > $10M

Non-Recurring Engineering Cost

  • Hard IP: circuit blocks defined at the mask (layout) and transistor (netlist) level.
  • Firm IP: logic-level/register netlist.
  • Soft IP: described at the register-transfer level (RTL) in an HDL.

7.3 Recurring Cost

Recurring Cost

\[ R_\mathrm{tot} = R_\mathrm{die} + R_\mathrm{pack} + R_\mathrm{test} \tag{60}\]

7.3.1 Dice per Wafer

\[ R_\mathrm{die} = \frac{W}{N \cdot Y} \tag{61}\]

\[ N \approx d \pi \left( \frac{d}{4 A} - \frac{1}{\sqrt{2 A}} \right) \tag{62}\]

Dice per Wafer

Figure 69: Number of dice per wafer as a function of the die size, for the standard wafer diameters (2 mm edge exclusion assumed).

7.3.2 Yield

\[ Y = \left( \frac{1 - e^{- A D_0}}{A D_0} \right)^2 \approx e^{-A D_0} \tag{63}\]

Yield

Figure 70: Good dice per wafer versus die size for a 300 mm wafer (2 mm edge exclusion) and two defect densities, using the simplified Murphy yield model of Equation 63.

7.4 An Exemplary Calculation

An Exemplary Calculation

Note 5: IC Cost and Selling Price

Let us calculate the required selling price for an IC using the following assumptions:

Parameter Value
Wafer cost \(W\) for a \(d = 200\,\text{mm}\) wafer $1500
Die size \(A\) 15 mm²
Yield \(Y\) 95 %
Targeted gross margin \(m\) 50 %
NRE plus fixed cost \(F_\mathrm{tot}\) $5M
Package and test cost $0.75

Using Equation 62 with \(d = 196\,\text{mm}\) (2 mm edge exclusion), we get \(N \approx 1900\) dice per wafer, and with Equation 61, the cost per die is

\[ R_\mathrm{die} = \frac{\$1500}{1900 \cdot 0.95} = \$0.83 \]

The total recurring cost per die is (using Equation 60)

\[ R_\mathrm{tot} = \$0.83 + \$0.75 = \$1.58 \]

The required selling price is strongly dependent on the number of ICs sold (using Equation 57 and Equation 58):

\[ S_\mathrm{tot} = \frac{1}{1 - m} \left( R_\mathrm{tot} + \frac{F_\mathrm{tot}}{N_\mathrm{sold}} \right) = 2 \left( \$1.58 + \frac{\$5\,\text{M}}{N_\mathrm{sold}} \right) \]

An Exemplary Calculation

IC Cost and Selling Price

The resulting selling price versus sales volume is plotted in Figure 71: in the left region (low volume), the fixed cost \(F_\mathrm{tot}\) dominates the selling price, whereas for larger volumes the recurring cost \(R_\mathrm{tot}\) becomes crucial.

An Exemplary Calculation

IC Cost and Selling Price

Figure 71: Required selling price versus sales volume for this exemplary IC: at low volumes, the fixed costs dominate; at high volumes, the price approaches twice the recurring cost.

References

Murphy, Bernard T. 1964. “Cost-Size Optima of Monolithic Integrated Circuits.” Proceedings of the IEEE 52 (12): 1537–45. https://doi.org/10.1109/PROC.1964.3442.
Vries, Dirk K. de. 2005. “Investigation of Gross Die Per Wafer Formulas.” IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing 18 (1): 136–39. https://doi.org/10.1109/TSM.2004.836656.

References